Paternalism alive and well at GOP convention, on Pinterest

2 Sep

Wimmins: without constant guardianship by older males, we just crumble, amirite? Some pinners certainly think so.

Gah! Ferns and a babbling brook! SAVE ME!

Paternalistic pin

Is a boy who can’t even put a hat on correctly capable of protecting anyone from anything? From the look of this picture, the girl has bigger guns than he does. Clearly, she can take on those scary plants she’s turned away from herself.

More sanguine relationship advice from Pinterest’s paternalistic wing:

Pinterest pin saying protect her like a daughter, love her like a wife, respect her like your mother.

Ah, yes. Treating your girlfriend simultaneously like a child, a wife, and your mother. That doesn’t sound like a recipe for disaster at all.

All of these pins equating familial and romantic love really creep me out. Seriously. Anyone else?

2 Responses to “Paternalism alive and well at GOP convention, on Pinterest”

  1. Karen Harrison September 2, 2012 at 5:53 pm #

    If my husband treats me like a daughter, I will be disdainful and roll my eyes at him. If he treats me like his mother, I will put him to bed at 9:00, and embarrass him in front of his friends. Heck, even if he treats me like his wife, I may do those things. Treat me like a mother or daughter, and it assured.

  2. teilashae September 6, 2012 at 7:52 am #

    Daughter, wife, mother… I think it’s just another Trinity thing. You know how seriously they take multiple personalities.

Leave a Reply

